IND beat IRE by 4 runs in Final T20I ; Wins Series by 2-0

In the second and final T20I against Ireland, Indian team registered a win by 4 runs, thus clinching the series by 2-0.

Hooda after completing his maiden century in International Cricket

Captain Hardik Pandya won toss and elected to bat first. India scored a big total of 225 runs off 7 wickets. For Indian side, Deepak Hooda top-scored with 104 runs and Sanju Samson contributing vital 77 runs.

Chasing a total of 226 runs, Indian side restricted Ireland to 221 runs off 5 wickets to win the match. For Irish team, Captain Andrew Balbirnie top-scored contributing 60 runs while opener Paul Stirling made 40 runs. Irish batters Harry Tector and George Dockrell scored some sensational hits in the last overs to bring match so close. Tector made 39 while Dockrell played an innings of 34* runs. Indian bowlers Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, and Ravi Bishnoi each took one wicket.

While chasing, Irish batters appeared in a great touch and were hitting the ball hard. The Irish team came so close to chasing down the total that they needed 17 runs off final over. A situation where almost all Indian bowlers seemed helpless, skipper Hardik Pandya headed to young speedster Umran Malik to bowl the last over. Malik didn’t disappoint either, restricting Irish batters to score 12 runs off last over, thus securing 4-run victory over the hosts.

While Malik garnered huge praise off the final over, it was Deepak Hooda who was named Man of the Match for his outstanding knock of 104 runs off 57 balls. Hooda who also top-scored in series, making 151 runs was named Man of the Series. With this ton, Hooda has secured a special place in the elite list of few Indian players who have scored century in T20I. Hooda is the fourth Indian to score century in T20I. The other three players being skipper Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, and K L Rahul.

For the uninitiated, India had already won first T20I against Ireland by 7 wickets.